Sprague and Jackson data breach
Incident readout
- Company
- Sprague and Jackson
- Reported to
- Indiana Attorney General
- Filed
- May 26, 2026
- People affected
- Not stated in the filing
- Incident type in filing
- Not stated
- Our review
- Monitoring
Was this a ransomware attack?
The filing does not say ransomware was involved. We do not label an incident ransomware unless the company’s report says so. Whatever the cause, the steps to protect yourself and the legal question are the same.
Information listed in the filing
- Full Name
- Social Security Number
- Date of Birth
- Financial Account Number
- Routing Number
- Tax and Income Information
- Confidential Legal Documents
- Home Address
- Phone Number
What we know
1024Sprague and Jackson operates as a boutique professional services and legal consulting firm, specializing in complex corporate litigation, asset management, and comprehensive estate planning. Because of the nature of its practice, the firm acts as a central repository for vast amounts of highly confidential information, routinely handling sensitive client records, proprietary corporate strategies, intricate financial ledgers, and comprehensive background documentation required for high-stakes legal proceedings. This concentration of high-value data makes the firm a prime target for malicious cyber actors seeking to exploit confidential files for illicit financial gain, corporate espionage, or identity exploitation.
The 2026 data breach reported to the Indiana Attorney General indicates a significant failure in network perimeter defense, likely involving unauthorized external access to the firm's centralized document management systems or a compromised third-party vendor portal. In the legal and professional services sector, such incidents frequently stem from sophisticated credential-harvesting operations, spear-phishing campaigns targeting administrative personnel, or unpatched vulnerabilities within legacy file-transfer protocols. When threat actors breach legal infrastructure, they typically gain unfettered access to internal archives containing years of privileged communications, sensitive client portfolios, and administrative records.
The exposure resulting from the 1024Sprague and Jackson incident compromises a devastating array of sensitive information, including full legal names, Social Security numbers, dates of birth, banking and trust account details, and confidential legal or financial dossiers. The compromise of this specific data exposes victims to severe, long-term risks, including targeted identity theft, fraudulent credit applications, unauthorized wire transfers, and the potential exposure of private litigation or corporate strategies. Unlike routine retail breaches, a compromise at a legal and financial advisory firm strikes at the core of an individual's personal and economic security, leaving victims vulnerable to multifaceted financial fraud that can take years to detect and resolve.
As a custodian of sensitive client and corporate data, 1024Sprague and Jackson was legally bound by state consumer protection statutes, common-law duties of confidentiality, and federal guidelines such as the FTC Act to implement robust administrative, physical, and technical safeguards. These obligations require multi-factor authentication, rigorous network monitoring, regular penetration testing, and strict access controls to protect confidential files against unauthorized exfiltration. The occurrence of a widespread data breach strongly suggests that the firm failed to meet these baseline security standards, allowing unauthorized intruders to bypass defensive layers that should have been hardened against intrusion.
Receiving a formal data breach notification letter from 1024Sprague and Jackson serves as official confirmation that your sensitive personal and financial data was compromised due to inadequate corporate security. Under modern legal standards, this notification establishes the legal standing necessary to participate in a class action lawsuit aimed at holding the firm accountable for its negligence. Affected individuals do not need to demonstrate actual financial loss or identity theft to seek justice; the increased risk of future harm and the loss of privacy are actionable injuries. Our firm evaluates these cases on a contingency fee basis, meaning you pay nothing out of pocket, and we recover fees only if we successfully secure a recovery on your behalf.
See every breach reported in Indiana or read what to do after a ransomware attack.
After the Sprague and Jackson incident: what to do and your options
- What should I do after getting the Sprague and Jackson data breach notice?
- Keep the letter and the envelope, and note the date it arrived. Freeze your credit with Equifax, Experian and TransUnion, change any passwords the notice mentions, and sign up for any free credit monitoring the letter offers. Then check whether you may have a claim.
- How many people were affected by the Sprague and Jackson data breach, and what was exposed?
- The filing does not give a count of affected people and lists the following information as involved: Full Name, Social Security Number, Date of Birth, Financial Account Number, Routing Number, Tax and Income Information, Confidential Legal Documents, Home Address, Phone Number. Your own letter is the best guide to what was exposed about you, since notices are usually tailored to each person.
- Did Sprague and Jackson offer free credit monitoring?
- Look for an enrollment code in your Sprague and Jackson notice. Companies that offer free credit monitoring after a breach usually include it there, with a deadline to activate. Because Social Security numbers are listed in this filing, identity monitoring and a credit freeze matter more than usual. Enrolling does not give up your right to bring a claim.
- Where can I see the official Sprague and Jackson breach notice?
- Sprague and Jackson's report is published by the Indiana Attorney General: https://www.in.gov/attorneygeneral/consumer-protection-division/id-theft-prevention/security-breaches/#1024sprague-and-jackson-2026 Compare it with the letter you received to confirm the dates and details match.
- Can I sue Sprague and Jackson over the data breach?
- It depends on what was exposed, the law in Indiana and your own state, and whether you've been harmed. Most people take part through a class action rather than suing alone. Keep your notification letter — it's the proof that connects you to the breach.
- Do I need a Sprague and Jackson data breach lawyer or attorney?
- Whether the company's systems were encrypted by ransomware or data was simply taken, the legal question is the same: did it protect your information the way the law requires? An attorney can review your notice for free, and these cases are usually handled on contingency.
- Is there a Sprague and Jackson data breach class action lawsuit?
- Law firms often open an investigation after a breach notice like this one, and a class action lawsuit may follow. This page doesn't confirm that a lawsuit has been filed against Sprague and Jackson. You usually don't have to join a class action to be included — if a settlement is reached, class members are notified and can file a claim.
- Is the Sprague and Jackson data breach letter legit or a scam?
- A notice from Sprague and Jackson in the mail matches the breach Sprague and Jackson reported to the Indiana Attorney General on May 26, 2026. Check that the company name and dates in your letter match that filing. A real notice of data security incident won't ask for your password, Social Security number or a payment — if it does, contact Sprague and Jackson through a phone number or website you find yourself.
- How much could a Sprague and Jackson data breach settlement or claim be worth?
- There is no set amount, and no Sprague and Jackson settlement is confirmed here. In past data breach settlements, payments depended on what data was exposed and on documented losses — fraud, out-of-pocket costs and time spent dealing with the breach. The filing lists Full Name, Social Security Number, Date of Birth as involved. Keep receipts and records; they're what damages claims are built on.
Other breaches reported in Indiana
- Bozeman School DistrictIndiana Attorney General · Filed date pendingCount not stated
- Bozeman School DistrictIN Attorney General · Filed date pendingCount not stated
- Teamsters Local 17Indiana Attorney General · Filed date pendingCount not stated
- Teamsters Local 17IN Attorney General · Filed date pendingCount not stated
- BankIndiana Attorney General · Filed date pendingCount not stated
- BankIN Attorney General · Filed date pendingCount not stated
Attorney advertising. This page reflects a public regulator filing; it does not mean a lawsuit has been filed or that the company did anything unlawful. Submitting a review request does not create an attorney-client relationship.