Olson & Company PC data breach
Incident readout
- Company
- Olson & Company PC
- Reported to
- Indiana Attorney General
- Filed
- February 21, 2025
- People affected
- Not stated in the filing
- Incident type in filing
- Not stated
- Our review
- Investigation Open
Was this a ransomware attack?
The filing does not say ransomware was involved. We do not label an incident ransomware unless the company’s report says so. Whatever the cause, the steps to protect yourself and the legal question are the same.
What we know
Olson & Company PC appears to be a professional law firm, as indicated by the 'PC' designation commonly used for professional corporations in the legal sector. Law firms typically collect and store highly sensitive personal and financial data, including client identity records, Social Security numbers, and confidential case or matter information necessary for legal representation. This data breach was officially reported to the Indiana Attorney General in 2025, confirming that the firm's systems were compromised. If you have received a data breach notification letter from the firm, it indicates that your personal information was likely stored within their systems at the time of the incident. We recommend reviewing the letter carefully to understand the specific details regarding the exposure of your sensitive records.
See every breach reported in Indiana or read what to do after a ransomware attack.
After the Olson & Company PC incident: what to do and your options
- What should I do after getting the Olson & Company PC data breach notice?
- Keep the letter and the envelope, and note the date it arrived. Freeze your credit with Equifax, Experian and TransUnion, change any passwords the notice mentions, and sign up for any free credit monitoring the letter offers. Then check whether you may have a claim.
- Did Olson & Company PC offer free credit monitoring?
- Check your letter from Olson & Company PC. If free credit or identity monitoring is offered, the enrollment code and deadline are printed in the notice itself. Using the free service won't stop you from joining a lawsuit or settlement later.
- Can I sue Olson & Company PC over the data breach?
- It depends on what was exposed, the law in Indiana and your own state, and whether you've been harmed. Most people take part through a class action rather than suing alone. Keep your notification letter — it's the proof that connects you to the breach.
- Do I need a Olson & Company PC data breach lawyer or attorney?
- Whether the company's systems were encrypted by ransomware or data was simply taken, the legal question is the same: did it protect your information the way the law requires? An attorney can review your notice for free, and these cases are usually handled on contingency.
- Is there a Olson & Company PC data breach class action lawsuit?
- Law firms often open an investigation after a breach notice like this one, and a class action lawsuit may follow. This page doesn't confirm that a lawsuit has been filed against Olson & Company PC. You usually don't have to join a class action to be included — if a settlement is reached, class members are notified and can file a claim.
- Is the Olson & Company PC data breach letter legit or a scam?
- A notice from Olson & Company PC in the mail matches the breach Olson & Company PC reported to the Indiana Attorney General on February 21, 2025. Check that the company name and dates in your letter match that filing. A real notice of data security incident won't ask for your password, Social Security number or a payment — if it does, contact Olson & Company PC through a phone number or website you find yourself.
- How much could a Olson & Company PC data breach settlement or claim be worth?
- There is no set amount, and no Olson & Company PC settlement is confirmed here. In past data breach settlements, payments depended on what data was exposed and on documented losses — fraud, out-of-pocket costs and time spent dealing with the breach. Keep receipts and records; they're what damages claims are built on.
Other breaches reported in Indiana
- Bozeman School DistrictIndiana Attorney General · Filed date pendingCount not stated
- Bozeman School DistrictIN Attorney General · Filed date pendingCount not stated
- Teamsters Local 17Indiana Attorney General · Filed date pendingCount not stated
- Teamsters Local 17IN Attorney General · Filed date pendingCount not stated
- BankIndiana Attorney General · Filed date pendingCount not stated
- BankIN Attorney General · Filed date pendingCount not stated
Attorney advertising. This page reflects a public regulator filing; it does not mean a lawsuit has been filed or that the company did anything unlawful. Submitting a review request does not create an attorney-client relationship.