News-Press & Gazette Company data breach
Incident readout
- Company
- News-Press & Gazette Company
- Reported to
- OR Attorney General
- Filed
- December 17, 2025
- People affected
- Not stated in the filing
- Incident type in filing
- Not stated
- Our review
- Investigation Open
Was this a ransomware attack?
The filing does not say ransomware was involved. We do not label an incident ransomware unless the company’s report says so. Whatever the cause, the steps to protect yourself and the legal question are the same.
What we know
News-Press & Gazette Company reported a data breach to the OR Attorney General's office on December 17, 2025. If News-Press & Gazette Company sent you a written notice, that letter connects you to this incident. Whether you have a legal claim depends on the specific facts of the breach and your situation — a free case review can help you understand your options.
See every breach reported in OR or read what to do after a ransomware attack.
After the News-Press & Gazette Company incident: what to do and your options
- What should I do after getting the News-Press & Gazette Company data breach notice?
- Keep the letter and the envelope, and note the date it arrived. Freeze your credit with Equifax, Experian and TransUnion, change any passwords the notice mentions, and sign up for any free credit monitoring the letter offers. Then check whether you may have a claim.
- Did News-Press & Gazette Company offer free credit monitoring?
- Look for an enrollment code in your News-Press & Gazette Company notice. Companies that offer free credit monitoring after a breach usually include it there, with a deadline to activate. Enrolling does not give up your right to bring a claim.
- Where can I see the official News-Press & Gazette Company breach notice?
- News-Press & Gazette Company's report is published by the OR Attorney General: https://justice.oregon.gov/consumer/databreach/#News-Press%20%26%20Gazette%20Company-2025-12-17 Compare it with the letter you received to confirm the dates and details match.
- Can I sue News-Press & Gazette Company over the data breach?
- It depends on what was exposed, the law in OR and your own state, and whether you've been harmed. Most people take part through a class action rather than suing alone. Keep your notification letter — it's the proof that connects you to the breach.
- Do I need a News-Press & Gazette Company data breach lawyer or attorney?
- Whether the company's systems were encrypted by ransomware or data was simply taken, the legal question is the same: did it protect your information the way the law requires? An attorney can review your notice for free, and these cases are usually handled on contingency.
- Is there a News-Press & Gazette Company data breach class action lawsuit?
- Law firms often open an investigation after a breach notice like this one, and a class action lawsuit may follow. This page doesn't confirm that a lawsuit has been filed against News-Press & Gazette Company. You usually don't have to join a class action to be included — if a settlement is reached, class members are notified and can file a claim.
- Is the News-Press & Gazette Company data breach letter legit or a scam?
- A notice from News-Press & Gazette Company in the mail matches the breach News-Press & Gazette Company reported to the OR Attorney General on December 17, 2025. Check that the company name and dates in your letter match that filing. A real notice of data security incident won't ask for your password, Social Security number or a payment — if it does, contact News-Press & Gazette Company through a phone number or website you find yourself.
- How much could a News-Press & Gazette Company data breach settlement or claim be worth?
- There is no set amount, and no News-Press & Gazette Company settlement is confirmed here. In past data breach settlements, payments depended on what data was exposed and on documented losses — fraud, out-of-pocket costs and time spent dealing with the breach. Keep receipts and records; they're what damages claims are built on.
Other breaches reported in OR
- Aldrich Services LLPOregon Attorney General · Filed October 21, 2026Count not stated
- Roseburg Therapy dba Stronger OregonOregon Attorney General · Filed October 19, 2026Count not stated
- Blueberry PediatricsOregon Attorney General · Filed October 10, 2026Count not stated
- AllCare Health, Inc.Oregon Attorney General · Filed October 8, 2026Count not stated
- Hood River DentalOregon Attorney General · Filed October 8, 2026Count not stated
- PeaceHealth Sacred Heart Medical CenterOregon Attorney General · Filed October 7, 2026Count not stated
Attorney advertising. This page reflects a public regulator filing; it does not mean a lawsuit has been filed or that the company did anything unlawful. Submitting a review request does not create an attorney-client relationship.