Cherokee County School District data breach
Incident readout
- Company
- Cherokee County School District
- Reported to
- South Carolina Attorney General
- Filed
- September 3, 2025
- People affected
- Not stated in the filing
- Incident type in filing
- Not stated
- Our review
- Investigation Open
Was this a ransomware attack?
The filing does not say ransomware was involved. We do not label an incident ransomware unless the company’s report says so. Whatever the cause, the steps to protect yourself and the legal question are the same.
What we know
Cherokee County School District is a public educational institution responsible for managing the academic and administrative records of students, faculty, and staff. In the course of its operations, the district collects and stores sensitive personal information, including student identification numbers, academic transcripts, parent or guardian contact details, and employment-related data for district personnel. In 2025, the district officially reported a data security incident to the South Carolina Attorney General, indicating that unauthorized parties may have accessed this sensitive information. If you received a data breach notification letter from the district, it means your personal data was likely involved in this incident. This notice is intended to inform you of the event and provide guidance on the steps you should take to protect your personal information.
See every breach reported in South Carolina or read what to do after a ransomware attack.
Other breaches reported in South Carolina
- AssuranceAmerica Managing General Agency, LLCSouth Carolina Attorney General · Filed October 14, 2026Count not stated
- JM Bullion, Inc.South Carolina Attorney General · Filed October 13, 2026Count not stated
- iRhythmSouth Carolina Attorney General · Filed October 6, 2026Count not stated
- World Acceptance CorporationSouth Carolina Attorney General · Filed September 30, 2026Count not stated
- Midvale Indemnity CompanySouth Carolina Attorney General · Filed September 30, 2026Count not stated
- DriveWealth, LLCSouth Carolina Attorney General · Filed September 29, 2026Count not stated
Attorney advertising. This page reflects a public regulator filing; it does not mean a lawsuit has been filed or that the company did anything unlawful. Submitting a review request does not create an attorney-client relationship.